Library Board Members:
Shari Purman - President - City of Hartford Representative
Craig Westfall - Vice- President - City of Hartford Representative
Allen Brown - City of Hartford Representative 
Emilee Mooney - City of Hartford Representative
Jeff Walters - Hartford Union High School District Representative
Justin Webb - City of Hartford Aldermanic Liaison 
Jamie Wolman - City of Hartford Representative
Magaret Yoder - Town of Erin Representative 


Library Board Governance

The Jack Russell Memorial Library is part of the City of Hartford and is governed by an independent, seven-member Library Board of Trustees. According to Section 4.29 of the City of Hartford Municipal Code, the Library Board shall consist of seven members appointed by the Mayor subject to the approval of the Common Council. In addition to the seven members, the Mayor may appoint, subject to the approval of the Common Council, a member of the Common Council as a nonvoting, liaison representative of the Common Council to the Library Board. All terms of service are for three-year staggered terms, with the liaison representative being an annual appointment. Each staggered term shall commence July 1st in the year of the appointment. Members of the Library Board shall be residents of the City, except that not more than two members may be residents of towns adjacent to the City. The Mayor shall appoint as one of the members a school district administrator, or its representative, to represent the public school district or districts in which the public library is located. No more than one member of the Common Council shall at any one time be a voting member of the Library Board. No compensation shall be paid to any Board member for their service as such, but they may be reimbursed for actual or necessary expenses incurred in performing their duties outside of the City if so authorized by the Board. A majority of the Board shall constitute a quorum but the Board may provide by resolution that three or more members shall constitute a quorum. The Library Board shall have the powers and duties as outlined in Chapter 43 of the Wisconsin Statutes.

To express interest in an appointment to the Library Board of Trustees, contact the Mayor of Hartford, 109 N. Main Street, Hartford, WI 53027 or 262-673-8204.

For more information about the role of Library Trustees view “Trustee Essentials: A Handbook for Wisconsin Public Library Trustees” prepared by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI). This publication and several other library trustee resources are available on the DPI website.

Board Meetings

The regularly scheduled meeting date of the Board of Trustees is the second Wednesday of each month. Meetings take place at 4:30 pm in the Community Room at JRML. Agendas are posted seven days in advance at City Hall on two public bulletin boards and in the Library.  Citizens are invited to attend and a public comment item on the Board's agenda each month.

Persons with questions about the Board of Trustees meetings, or persons who want contact information for members of the Board of Trustees, may contact the Library Director at (262) 673-8241.